TOUCH Outreach Group Life Forum
. Home . Bookstore . Audio & Video . Read Articles Testimonials Testimonials . Shopping Cart . Contact Us . Forum  
TOUCH Outreach Group Life Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Pastor's discussion area
 What's on your mind?
 Small group duration
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Dan Hornbostel
Starting Member

Korea
1 Posts

Posted - 06/16/2006 :  05:26:50  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm a seminary student and the pastor of a small church in Korea with about 60-70 members. I've been pastoring my church for about a year and we started about 3 prayer groups in March so I really wouldn't say we're an official cell church we're just experimenting with teh model.

Anyway, one of the core members of my church has been leading a Bible study for about 4 years ongoing and the group really doesn't seem to serve a purpose anymore except to have the "committed core" minister to the "committed core". I attended the group for about two or three years and stopped in March when I started seminary. Is there any healthy benchmark for the duration of a Bible study? Should I just leave the group be as long as they want to meet? What are the signs that a Bible study, objectively, isn't healthy and should think about closing?

Any advice is welcome.

Dan

touchadmin
Forum Admin

USA
119 Posts

Posted - 06/20/2006 :  21:40:45  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Anyone want to chime in here?

I have a sizeable cell group knowledge base, but I'm no Bible Study expert!

Randall Neighbour
Forum Administrator
Go to Top of Page

Donorail
Starting Member

USA
6 Posts

Posted - 06/22/2006 :  07:40:18  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
The group must be meeting needs or it would not still be together. It sounds like it has been a success in either Christian community and/or Bible knowledge.